Unless I go to a sushi restaurant, the work and preparation that goes into making my meal is unseen.

But I want to see it. I want to see the fine work done to make my meal; the slicing and dicing, sautéing, braising and plating. I want to see how the chef turns onions into French onion soup, topped with slices of house-made baguette and buffalo mozzarella.

It’s not that I don’t know how to make my meal, it’s that I want to see the artistry behind the restaurant kitchen doors. I want to see the chefs at work, creating the delicious dishes which I enjoy eating as much as I enjoy thinking about the work that goes into preparing them.

And so, when I get the chance to see the sushi chef prepare my meal, I’m fascinated. I love watching their fingers fly as they shape each roll and piece of maki sushi. And each piece tastes that much better, because I have seen the work that goes into making it.

This post is in response to The Daily Prompt: Unseen.

Leave a Reply

